Baseline Checks

BPSS (MoJ) or Enhanced Level 2 (HMPPS)

Minimum level clearance for all individuals entering employment with the Civil Service. As part of this clearance we will request and assess:


• Your ID, Address History, Eligibility and confirmation of Right to Work in the UK

• Criminal Convictions History (PNC - HMPPS or Disclosure Scotland - MoJ)

• Employment History and References

• Professional Registration / Qualifications checks where applicable to the role

• Counter signatory references where applicable

• Online health assessment where applicable





Higher Level Checks

National Security Clearance 

When being considered for a post where you will have access to highly sensitive information, assets or locations, one of three levels of checks will be carried out in addition to Baseline:


•Counter Terrorist Check (CTC): is carried out if an individual is working in proximity to public figures, or requires unescorted access to certain premises assessed to be at particular risk from terrorist attack or influence.

• Security Check (SC): determines that a person’s character and personal circumstances are such that they can be trusted to work in a position which may involve access to Secret’ information.

• Developed Vetting (DV): appropriate when an individual has long term, frequent and uncontrolled access to ‘Top Secret’ information





Higher Level Checks

Disclosure and Barring Service

When being considered for posts working with vulnerable groups, including children you will be subject to checks of:


• Convictions, Cautions, Reprimands and Warnings held in England and Wales on the Police National Computer.

•Convictions in Scotland and Northern Ireland may also be included.

• May include check of the new barred lists if requested and any locally held police force information considered relevant to the job role, by Chief Police Officer(s)